Character

Wrote this back in October and never published it…..was a crazy time for us, but God always, ALWAYS shows us HIS plan.

 

Been a lot going through my mind recently. A LOT. Just one of those times in life where God uses MANY different things, both good and bad to teach us things. About three weeks ago, I was blessed to be able to have surgery on my leg for the veins that have been painful for many years. In addition to the pain from the veins being gone, they are gonna look a whole lot better too! Bonus!!

At any rate, I’ll tell you about a set of 2 weeks that God used to teach me something. CHARACTER. Probably not what I thought was going on at the time, but what I saw at the end.

Here’s a short version of what happened in that time frame: My surgery was scheduled for Thursday morning. On Wednesday, Kayla became sick and I took her to the doctor, probably a little sooner than I would’ve normally because I knew I was going to be down for the count for a few days. She had white spots in her throat and a cough, but strep came back negative. Told it was just a virus, and it would have to run its course. Same day, Derek’s eye begins to swell. Thursday morning comes, Derek wakes up and eye is almost completely swollen shut. He heads to stat care before my surgery but it takes too long to get in. Kayla is sick and had fever so she must miss school. She travels to Canton with Derek and I to sit in the waiting room while I have my surgery. What a trooper. My surgery goes well (besides nausea from meds), and ends up being less invasive than originally planned. One vein stays in tact, while all the surface veins get removed. And we head home. Derek then heads back to the stat care. He’s given a steroid to help his eye.
Friday morning, Derek finally establishes a doctor here in town and goes in the next day to get eye looked at. Gets a shot. Eye is getting better. Same day, I start to develop rash on my arms.
Fast forward to Saturday/Sunday, rash is much worse. Can’t stand the itching. Call Doc and he says I must be allergic to the antibiotic. Stop taking meds! That day, the kids had some friends over and they were playing outside. Tyler gets clothes-lined on a dog run we had put in for a friend’s dog and is crying very hard. I get a kleenex to wipe his nose, and he blows right when i pinched his nose to wipe it. Tyler begins screaming in pain about his ear. Proceeds to cry for the next hour about his ear. I head to stat care with Tyler (these things ALWAYS happen on weekends!!!) and Tyler has an ear infection. Get Tyler meds.

My rash is worse, doc sends me to ER for steroids. I go to ER, get steroids. Rash is NOT improving over the course of the week. Thursday comes, and Kayla starts with a rash on her arms, and eventually leads to her face swelling. This is all completely different from the type of rash I have. Her doctor sends us to the ER because of the fast progression of hers. They do blood tests (HORRIBLE!) and everything comes back negative. Said is a manifestation of whatever virus she had the week before. Puts her on steroids and She is miserable as well but steroids begin to show some change so they send us home. Both Kayla and I are on Benadryl 24-7!!!

My rash still isn’t better by Friday, so I go back to my family doc, she gives me a shot, 10 more days of steroids, an anti-itch medicine along with an additional antihistamine. If you know me, you know I HATE taking medicine, so by this point, I feel like an addict!!!

Within a few days, I finally get some relief. 3 weeks later, I am STILL healing from the hives. Mind you my surgery was on Sept 13th! Craziness. Didn’t think it would ever end. WOW. that was long. Sorry.

So that Sunday at church, Dwight preached a sermon. I believe it was God’s perfect timing. As usual. And he preached about how we think that God is inconsistent, that he doesn’t meet our expectations. But God has never agreed to certain expectations. We think that its God’s job to make us happy. We think we’re going to live a “happy” life. But he hasn’t promised that. He has promised to NEVER leave us and NEVER forsake us. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.
He didn’t promise that this life would be easy. That it would go off without a hitch. I THOUGHT that week would be simple. I THOUGHT I had prepared myself. But here’s a verse that has stuck out to me more than anything, in regards to what my expectations are in this life. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9.” He ISN’t inconsistent. He is perfect – however he allows my life to happen.

“Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.”

My hope is that my character has grown, and my circumstance are irrelevant. That my goal is to be holy, not just happy. Very thankful for all the things our family went through that week. It has made me grow in so many ways, made me thankful for so many things, and allowed me to focus on the things that matter.

Leave a Reply

