“I need you!!!!”

As a parent of young children, I hear the words, “I NEED you!” many, many times a day. And if I’m honest and open, which I strive to do and share with others, by the end of the day, I tend to get very annoyed. The kids are now 7, 4, and 2, and I hear those words the most from the 4 & 2 year old. I find myself constantly telling them that they don’t need my help, or they can do it on their own, or mommy needs to do something else. They depend on me to be there for them, and trust that I will be no matter what. And I am.

As I was getting ready today, thinking about what has happened over the course of the last week, along with my entire journey as a parent, I started thinking about the future, when my young children will not be so young. Its easy to think about how much “easier” life will be, wishing for those times when the kids can get their own breakfast, pick out clothes and dress themselves, and in general, get themselves going and keep themselves going. 🙂

We dropped off Dylan at school this morning, just the same as the last 2 days, and as he was walking away, I realized how little he needs me. He didn’t look back. He didn’t pause. You see, He didn’t need us to walk him into school, or help him get to his class. He didn’t need us to show him where to go. He doesn’t need to have me right by his side. He is growing up. And NEEDING me much less.

So fast forward to the teen years….and I get tears in my eyes. Realizing that I will probably LONG for someone to need me. Will be wishing for times that they will cuddle up with me on the couch. Or want me to get them their breakfast, need me to do something for them, need me just for some attention.  And then I will want it all back. I will want them.

So rewind to the present, and I realize that these times are few and should be cherished. That I should enjoy all the craziness and constant need for my attention, and bask in the fact that I have been given the gift of being a parent.Because it is a gift. To be needed by someone each and every day.

Because if I invest in it now, they are going to WANT to spend time with me when they are older. And that’s the best possible gift that anyone could get.

Leave a Reply

